School will now open on MONDAY 15TH JUNE for Foundation, Y1 and Y6 children. Please see the parents' section for more information.

Home Page

Meet the Governors

Mrs. Eileen Brooks - Co-opted Governor

Professional background:

I am an award-winning journalist and former Head of Communications at Rotherham Borough Council. I was a former pupil at St Ann's and Rotherham High School for Girls. I am also a Trustee Board member of Rotherham Abuse Counselling Service.


I have a degree in Social Studies from Sheffield Hallam University.



Mr. Richard Hawley - Staff Governor

Professional Background:

I am a teacher at St. Ann's School and have worked here for 16 years. I first came to the school as a trainee teacher on placement and have been here ever since because of the amazing children, ethos and atmosphere of the school.

Personal Background:

I am a father of three children aged between 9 and 2. One of my children has very complex needs and so as a parent, and a teacher, I am passionate about all children receiving the education that they deserve.


I have a degree in Environmental Science from the University of Leeds and a PGCE from Sheffield Hallam University. I have also studied for and gained NPQSL qualification.


Mrs. Patricia Jarvis - Co-opted Governor

Professional Background:

I previously worked in Adult Community Education but have now retired. I am a local Councillor working within the community, which I find very challenging but very rewarding.

Personal Background: 

I have long standing connections with St Ann's, well over 20 years, having previously supported adult learning groups in the school. I really believe in the ethos of the school and treasure the loving and happy atmosphere which you sense from the minute you enter the school.


I have teaching qualifications for post 16 education, along with a management qualification.


Mrs. Julie Jennings Co-Opted

Professional background:

I currently work at St Ann's as a Senior Teaching Assistant in Year 3. I attended St Ann's as a child back in the 70's.

Personal Background:

Over the years, I have lived and worked in different schools around the world. St Ann's is a unique school where cultural diversity is celebrated.


I studied and specialised in Art at Rotherham College & Arts Technology. I now use these skills across the school to support others.


Mrs. Martina Stipakova - Parent Governor

Professional Background:

I work as a Family support worker in the local community. Recently I have been involved with the Home Office helping people apply for Settled Status.

Personal Background:

I am married with one daughter who attends St Ann’s Junior & Infant School. I came to England from Slovakia years ago and I am hoping to make a positive contribution to the school, as Parent Governor.



Mr. Lee Rowan - Joint Headteacher

Professional Background:

I currently work at St Ann's as the Joint Headteacher and have been in this current post since 2012. I first came to St. Ann’s in 2002 as an Assistant Head & Y6 teacher. I have taught in Rotherham Borough Council for 25 years.

Personal Background:

I am a father of three children aged between 18 and 14, my eldest son has just started University. My passion is football – I am a season ticket holder at Manchester United.


I have a BA in Sports Studies from Northumbria University and a PGCE from Bradford and Ilkley Community College. Since joining St. Ann’s I have also passed a PGC in Leadership and Management and my NPQH.


Mrs. Christine Peters - Co-Opted

Professional Background:




Mr. David Randall - Co-Opted

Professional Background:

I have spent the last 25 years working in IT, the last 5 years of which has been in the education sector.  I spent 8 years as a governor for a local infant school in Mansfield, going through 2 OFSTED visits, one as Vice Chair, and the other as Chair of Governors.  During this time I chaired the finance and personnel committee, was the lead for the Head teacher Appraisals, Safeguarding Governor, Health and Safety Governor and IT Co-ordinator.


Personal Background:

I love working in education, and have a special interest in special educational needs, as both my son and step son have Autism.  In my spare time I keep tropical fish, and am learning to play the electric guitar.  I live in Nottinghamshire with my partner and her four children, I spend most of my working week travelling to different schools in the South Yorkshire area.


Meet The Governors


Mrs N. Rashid - Vice-Chair

Mrs Z. Ahmed - Acting Chair 

Mrs S. Blagden - Joint Headteacher

Mr J. Greaves - Co-Opted

Mrs S. Littlewood - Co-Opted


Mrs J. Leighton - Clerk to the Governing Board

  • All members of the Governing Board can be contacted through school.


Governor Name Attendance Full GB Meetings (2018-2019)  Sub Committee Meetings (2018-2019) Category of Governor Body which appointed Term of Office dates Positions of Specific Responsibility Other Governance Roles Register of Business/Material Interests (2018-2019)
Mrs. Sue Mallinder 6/8 3/3 Co-opted (Chair) Governors

From: 11/04/2011

To: 11/12/2019

Safeguarding, Standards None ABC Family Leaners
Mrs. Sharon Blagden 8/8 3/3 Co-Head Teacher Governors From: 04/09/2013 Training and Development None None
Mr. Lee Rowan 7/8 1/1 Co-Head Teacher Governors From: 04/09/2013 Standards None None
Mrs. Nasreen Rashid 7/8 1/1 Co-opted (Vice-Chair) Governors From:12/09/1998 Training & Development, Foundation Stage None None
Mrs. Zaidah Ahmed 1/8   Local Authority & Vice- Chair Local Authority


From: 10/09/2008

To: 03/03/2020


From: 10/09/2008

Inclusion, Community & Engagement None None
Mr. Richard Hawley 7/8   Staff Staff From: 01/09/2015   None Material
Mrs. Connie Cooper 3/4   Co-opted Support Staff

From: 04/09/2013

To: 11/02/2019

  None None
Mrs. Christine Peters 6/8   Co-opted Governors From: 30/08/2017 Community & Engagement, Key Stage 1 None None
Mrs. E Brooks 7/8   Co-opted Governors From: 30/08/2017 Community & Engagement, Lower Key Stage 2 None None
Mrs. J Daughtry 2/4   Co-opted Governors

From: 01/07/2000

To: 11/02/2019

Pupil Premium None Material
Mrs. Hooria Hussnain 3/8   Parent Parents From: 11/07/2014 Pupil Premium, Finance None None
Mrs. Patricia Jarvis 3/8   Co-opted Governors From: 10/06/2014 Training & Development, Upper Key Stage 2 None None
Mrs. Martina Stipakova 1/1   Parent Parents From: 27/06/19 Community & Engagement  None Material
Mr. David Randall 1/2   Co-opted Governors From: 07/05/2019 Finance None None
Mrs. Julie Jennings 1/2   Co-opted Support Staff From: 07/05/2019 Standards None None
Mrs. Jill Leighton


3/3 Clerk Governors From: 04/09/2018   None None


Governance Structure 2019/20